Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog

Subscribe to Journal

Thursday, August 12th 2010

1:39 PM

Reed Finishing, Pre-forming scrapes

While studying with Gary Echols I learned a process of pre-forming scrapes that he developed after studying with Lou Skinner.  After the initial profile by machine, place the reed on an easel for making the scrape.  A well-defined fold mark is required on the cane, a little deeper than may be required for folding so the knife will stop at the end of each scrape.  A triangle file is good for this purpose as the cut is a little wider than with a knife and less likely to cut all the way through.  I then divide the blade of the cane into three equal sections from shoulder to tip. In the section closest to the tip I draw a straight line with a pencil from the edge of the blade to the center line/fold mark.  This makes a small triangle that I will scrape with the knife towards the tip 12 times.  The scrape starts at the top of the mark I have made and goes to the fold mark in the center of the cane.  (Please see a drawing I have made of this stage of the finishing on page 2 of my photo album). I used a large V-shape knife for this process rather than a beveled knife as I would be pulling the blade towards me.  I don’t want to dig much into the cane where I start and I increase the pressure slightly along the scrape.  I then follow the same procedure in the next two sections though I decrease the number of scrapes with 8 scrapes in the second section and four scrapes in the third section.  When I am finished I have accomplished a taper of the cane much like Roy Skinner’s Straight Taper type of reed.  This is only the first stage of this finishing process.  The main difference with this and Skinner’s process is that rather than scraping parallel with the edge of the blade Echols scraped parallel with the spine.  Since this process is performed before forming a dial indicator may be used to check the scrape I have just described as well as the subsequent scrapes on the right and left side of the blade as well as on the opposite blade.

After the reed is formed Echols would then finish the tip of the reed and obtain the usual half-moon appearance.  The advantage to Echols’ pre-form scrape is that he could use the dial indicator and obtain a symmetrical blade that is more difficult to obtain once the reed is formed.

This has been a difficult process to describe though I hope the drawing helps. I look forward to your comments and observations.

Best,

Dale

30 Comment(s).

Posted by jonesbrianna:

This is really nice to read..informative post is very good to read..thanks a lot! Really, great blog you have got here.
Healthcare App Development
Sunday, August 25th 2019 @ 11:22 PM

Posted by airdropcryptonews:

Details are above are very out standing thanks for the details. I think, it will be good if you explain with pictures to make it easier to understand :)
Friday, August 23rd 2019 @ 9:41 PM

Posted by Rame Valve:

Thank you for the information you shared yes, it really helped me to learn it. Don't forget to visit our website at
Jual Valve
Jual Valve Bonney Forge
Jual Valve Ball Valve
Jual Valve Globe Valve
Jual Valve Gate Valve
Jual Valve Control Valve
Jual Check Valve
Jual Butterfly Valve
Sunday, August 18th 2019 @ 11:26 PM

Posted by sunny m lashary:

Details are above are very out standing thanks for the details.

9th class result
Friday, August 16th 2019 @ 11:13 AM

Posted by hanna:

The information you share is very helpful to us. run 3 cool math
Wednesday, August 14th 2019 @ 1:26 AM

Posted by Quickbooks support phone number:

QuickBooks Customer Service is available round the clock to resolve accounting problems. Reach experts at QuickBooks Customer Service Number and get instant help.
Tuesday, August 6th 2019 @ 12:07 PM

Posted by Nandatrio:

this article inspired me so much ..
that learning will yield many extraordinary benefits..

this is my homepage
Nandatrio
Ayam Aduan
Tuesday, August 6th 2019 @ 11:10 AM

Posted by selaput dara buatan:

Jual Selaput Dara Perawan Buatan Jepang untuk Kembalikan Keperawanan Tercepat Tanpa Operasi
Sunday, August 4th 2019 @ 8:15 AM

Posted by sam:

I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new information in your site. 프로미 먹튀
Monday, July 22nd 2019 @ 6:25 AM

Posted by hotmail login:

hotmail login is free email service provided by microsoft
Saturday, July 20th 2019 @ 3:09 AM

Posted by iPanel:

Nice
Monday, July 15th 2019 @ 10:13 AM

Posted by Jendralpoker:

I think, it will be good if you explain with pictures to make it easier to understand :)

-tipsjendralpoker
-jendralpokerjalan2
-Cara Daftar ID Pro PKV
Thursday, July 11th 2019 @ 1:53 AM

Posted by Anak Pejaten:

Latest news from Indonesia includingBerita Terkini

Latest news from Indonesia includingPresiden Jokowi

Latest news from Indonesia includingMa'ruf Amin

Latest news from Indonesia includingKPK

Latest news from Indonesia includingAgus Harimurti Yudhoyono

Latest news from Indonesia includingSusilo Bambang Yudhoyono

Latest news from Indonesia includingMegawati Soekarnoputri

Latest news from Indonesia includingRidwan Kamil

Latest news from Indonesia includingAnies Baswedan

Latest news from Indonesia includingSBY

Latest news from Indonesia includingSusi Pudjiastuti

Latest news from Indonesia includingGanjar Prabowo

Latest news from Indonesia includingGibran Rakabuming

Latest news from Indonesia includingIriana Jokowi

Latest news from Indonesia includingWiranto

Latest news from Indonesia includingPolri

Latest news from Indonesia includingLowongan Kerja

Latest news from Indonesia includingHarga Emas

Latest news from Indon
Thursday, July 11th 2019 @ 1:12 AM

Posted by Anak Pejaten:

Berita Terkini https://kumparan.com/topic/berita-terkini
Joko Widodo https://kumparan.com/topic/presiden-jokowi
Ma'ruf Amin https://kumparan.com/topic/ma-ruf-amin
KPK https://kumparan.com/topic/kpk
Agus Harimurti Yudhoyono https://kumparan.com/topic/agus-harimurti-yudhoyono
Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono https://kumparan.com/topic/susilo-bambang-yudhoyono
Megawati Soekarnoputri https://kumparan.com/topic/megawati-soekarnoputri
Ridwan Kamil https://kumparan.com/topic/ridwan-kamil
Anies Baswedan https://kumparan.com/topic/anies-baswedan
SBY https://kumparan.com/topic/sby
Susi Pudjiastuti https://kumparan.com/topic/susi-pudjiastuti
Ganjar Pranowo https://kumparan.com/topic/ganjar-pranowo
Gibran Rakabuming https://kumparan.com/topic/gibran-rakabuming
Iriana Jokowi https://kumparan.com/topic/iriana-jokowi
Wiranto https://kumparan.com/topic/wiranto
POLRI https://kumparan.com/topic/polri
Lowongan Kerja https://kumparan.com/topic/lowongan-kerja
Harga Emas https://kumparan.com/topic/harga-emas
Timnas Indonesia https://kumparan.com/topic/timnas-indonesia
Habib Rizieq https://kumparan.com/topic/habib-rizieq
Moto-GP https://kumparan.com/topic/moto-gp
Valentino Rossi https://kumparan.com/topic/valentino-rossi
Marc Marquez https://kumparan.com/topic/marc-marquez
Persib Bandung https://kumparan.com/topic/persib-bandung
Persija Jakarta https://kumparan.com/topic/persija-jakarta
Thursday, July 11th 2019 @ 1:11 AM

Posted by Norton Setup:

this is really a great way to express.
Tuesday, July 9th 2019 @ 5:37 AM

Posted by Quickbook Support:

this is really a great way to express.
Tuesday, July 2nd 2019 @ 5:26 AM

Posted by titan gel asli rusia:

a blog that always inspires me, always visits here ... thank you for providing insight
Tuesday, June 25th 2019 @ 12:44 PM

Posted by place to go in indonesia:

Actually, this article is good enough, You have explained correctly step by step. But it will be better if you put some pictures on this article, not 2. It would be detail and perfect information. But overall are good. Nice to sharing
Monday, June 24th 2019 @ 9:08 PM

Posted by rental mobil surabaya:

I really like the double-made posts, it's easy to understand;)
Saturday, June 8th 2019 @ 2:52 AM

Posted by Maurine:

Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up the great effort.

Here is my website: gadgets cake
Friday, May 31st 2019 @ 7:15 AM

Posted by happy wheels:

Thank you very much for sharing this very useful information,
happy wheels
Wednesday, May 29th 2019 @ 1:59 AM

Posted by United Airlines Phone Number:

Contact our agents at United Airlines Phone Number and get best deals and packages for United Airlines. United Airlines Phone Number is toll free and available from every part of the world. For more info, visit here: http://airlinesphonenumbers.wifeo.com/contact-united-airlines-phone-number-for-hassle-free-booking.php
Wednesday, May 29th 2019 @ 12:55 AM

Posted by Gclub:

Here is a good Weblog You might Come across Fascinating that we Encourage You
Monday, May 27th 2019 @ 9:06 PM

Posted by tndte result april 2019:

qiuewgr ieg iwutei whgui wigwue w rtyerty6ewr6:(:o
Saturday, May 25th 2019 @ 11:05 PM

Posted by live casino:

Thank you for sharing your knowledge. Judi Online 2019
Thursday, May 23rd 2019 @ 1:29 AM

Posted by tanvophin:

Thanks for the genuine article. It was easy to read.
Sunday, May 19th 2019 @ 8:54 AM

Posted by gmail com login:

thank you for this information, it's interesting
Sunday, May 12th 2019 @ 9:32 PM

Posted by Diego:

Hello! I could have sworn I've visited your blog before but after going through some of the posts I realized
it's new to me. Nonetheless, I'm definitely delighted I found it
and I'll be book-marking it and checking back often!

my blog post :: https://www.outdoor-ads.co.za/billboards-advertising
Sunday, May 5th 2019 @ 6:31 PM

Posted by Angus:

I am really pleased to glance at this web site posts which
contains plenty of helpful data, thanks for providing these statistics.


Here is my web site ... Mobile Billboards
Thursday, May 2nd 2019 @ 12:44 PM

Posted by QQCINEMA21:

Post New Comment

No Smilies More Smilies »