Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog

Subscribe to Journal

Sunday, August 30th 2009

10:19 AM

Reed Dimensions: length, thickness and width

I’d like to start my discussion of reed dimensions by comparing the length and wire placements of my style A reeds with style B.  Style A reed measures 54 mm (millimeters) overall: first wire at 25 mm from butt of reed, second wire at 16 mm and third wire at 5 mm.  Length from first wire to the tip, also known as the bahn, is 29mm.  Style B reed measures 57 mm overall:  first wire at 27 mm from butt of reed, second wire at 18 mm and third wire at 5 mm. Length from first wire to the tip is 30 mm.  How can both reeds be made to play in tune on the same bassoon and bocal?  First, the profile of the blade is thicker on the style B.  For every mm in length longer the reed is, I make the blade .05 mm thicker, especially at the back by the shoulder or ledge where the bark ends.  On the B style the collar also tends to have a more gradual fall off into the blade as opposed to the abrupt ledge of the A style.  The thicker cane provides more resistance, there by raising the pitch a little to counter the resistance lost in the extra length of the reed. Finally, the difference in embouchure pressure made by individual players can result in the need for slightly different reeds.

I grew up around house construction and built my own house, labor and all, in my late twenties.  So, I like to use analogies from carpentry and house framing when discussing the length and strength of the blade of bassoon reeds.  A floor joist, the wooden member that supports a floor, is weaker in longer lengths if the width of the board remains the same.  So, I learned that you needed a 2 x 12 inch board (2 inches thick by 12 inches wide) for a 16 foot span while a 2 x 8 inch board would work for a 12 foot span.  While the 8 inch wide board might not break at the longer span, the floor would be weaker and would tend to vibrate or sag.  These joists, for the greatest strength, are placed with the width vertically under the floor.  If laid flat, the board would be much weaker as a load bearing member.  The blade of a bassoon reed, with the tip closed, looks much like two wide boards placed together laying flat.  When released the tip pops open because of the resilience in the blades.  Resilience is the tendency or ability of a material to keep or return to its original form.  A reed blade of 30 mm in length is weaker than one of 29 mm in length if the same thickness of profile was used for both blades.  The 30 mm blade would even be thinner at the last mm because the profile tapers at the tip.  So, the thinner, longer blade, because of its weakness, not just its length, tends to play flatter unless the profile for the longer reed is made thicker. 

Another factor in the performance of the longer reed, the style B, is the increased width at the tip.  The style B is 15 mm wide and the style A slightly wider than 14 mm.  Even though both reeds are from the same Fox #2 shape the style B is wider at the tip because, if the overall reed length is longer, the  shape flares wider from the butt towards the tip of the reed.  A wider tip, at this length, is more difficult for me to control and play in tune in the upper register and may even cause the reed to be flatter overall.  Even with my reeds of the same length and profile but with different shapes, such as  the style A and style D, the wider style D, made with the Rieger 1A shape, is not quite as easy to play in the very top register but is great in the mid to low registers.  These performance tendencies can of course be mitigated with the finish scrapings and adjustment of the wires but may help players determine which reed best fits their needs.

The last factor I will discuss has to do with the strength of the blade in general.  As with a board laid flat, the reed blade is stronger and more resistant from pressure to the sides than the top and bottom.  Thus the properly profiled blade is able to close freely as the air passing through forms a vacuum and then pop back open because of its strength and resilience.  Also, the natural curvature of the cane helps the blade return to its open or arched position.  This arch can be strengthened not only by the thickness of the cane but by the shape of the reed’s throat and tube controlled by the wires.  Dr. Matthew Ruggiero, IDRS honorary member, taught me that the first wire controls the tip opening and the second wire the shape of the throat.  Of course the second wire can cause the tip to open and close but to a lesser degree than the first and the squeezing operation is opposite to the first wire because of the fulcrum.  I’ll discuss the wires operation more in another blog.  What I want to point out is that because of the strength of a board, or in this case the reed blade, from the sides, squeezing the first wire from the sides is not always the technique I use to open the reed or create more arch.  I also use a pin or throat mandrel to open the tip if the first wire is already what I consider to be round enough.  Some forming mandrels are not long enough to open the tip the correct amount when forming the reed so the reed may seem too weak and need the arch increased by using a longer mandrel made for this purpose.  I was fortunate to have Gary Echols, retired Professor of Bassoon at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, give me some of Lou Skinner’s pin mandrels.  I am very grateful for all the equipment Gary gave me when he retired that helped provide the motivation to start Clark Bassoon Reeds.

Best,

Dale

30 Comment(s).

Posted by Delta Airlines Manage Booking:

Posted by Vinayak Goyal:

igmGuru: We are one of the finest online training Company you can ever come upon solely focused and dedicated to your career development. We have partnered with several well-known companies and prestigious institutions and individuals to train the next generations in IT technologies. Our aim objective is to foster the best growth and upgrade your career objectives with proper knowledge and skills. Passionate training of information technology has always been our motto..All desire to achieve their dream jobs and position but a few succeed to reach their goal. Our vision is to help you to achieve your aim.
Friday, April 30th 2021 @ 9:47 AM

Posted by Sexy Women Porn Videos HD Tube:

This post offers clear idea in support off the new visitors off blogging, that in fact how to do blogging and site-building.


https://sveti-matej.info/
Sexy Women Porn Videos HD Tube https://sveti-matej.info/
Saturday, April 24th 2021 @ 2:36 AM

Posted by Eartha:

Wow, superb weblog format! How long have you ever been blogging for?

you make blogging glance easy. Thee full glance of your site is magnificent, ass neatly
as the content!

https://doc.museosalento.it/boeing-737-400-manual-pdf.pdf
Shela https://doc.museosalento.it/boeing-737-400-manual-pdf.pdf
Thursday, April 15th 2021 @ 8:25 PM

Posted by descarga de libros en formato pdf:

Very soon this website will be famous among all blogging people, due to it's
pleasant content
https://file.rifugiofiori.it/descarga-de-libros-en-formato-pdf.pdf
descarga de libros en formato pdf https://doc.accademia-anea.it/modul-sistem-informasi-manajemen-pdf.pdf
Wednesday, April 14th 2021 @ 11:31 AM

Posted by Riya Sharma:

Udaipur Escorts- Hire independent Udaipur Call Girls at Udaipur Escorts service for hot Call Girls in Udaipur available 24/7. Erotic Udaipur escort. http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/
Ahmedabad Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/
Jaipur Escorts Service- http://www.sonamsharma.com/
Jaipur Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/jaipur-escorts.html
Jodhpur Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/jodhpur-escorts.html
Ajmer Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/ajmer-escorts.html
Jaisalmer Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/jaisalmer-escorts.html
Pushkar Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/pushkar-escorts.html
Bikaner Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/bikaner-escorts.html
Mount Abu Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/mount-abu-escorts.html
Kota Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/kota-escorts.html
Bhilwara Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/bhilwara-escorts.html
Alwar Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/alwar-escorts.html
Vadodara Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/vadodara-escorts.html
Daman Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/daman-escorts.html
Rajkot Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/rajkot-escorts.html
Vapi Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/vapi-escorts.html
Nainital Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/nainital-escorts.html
Dehradun Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/dehradun-escorts.html
Haridwar Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/haridwar-escorts.html
Rishikesh Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/rishikesh-escorts.html
Rudrapur Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/rudrapur-escorts.html
Mussoorie Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/mussoorie-escorts.html
Haldwani Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/haldwani-escorts.html
Srinagar Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/srinagar-escorts.html
Ramnagar Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/ramnagar-escorts.html
Gangtok Escorts- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/gangtok-escorts.html
Darjeeling Escorts- http
Sunday, April 11th 2021 @ 8:13 PM

Posted by Priya Sharma:

Hi guys great selection Ahmedabad escorts girl service for fulfil your sexual requirement because it is a easy way of fun with Independent call girls in Ahmedabad so you can hire and enjoy with us. - http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/
Udaipur Escorts Service- http://www.udaipurescortsx.com/
Jaipur Escorts- https://www.sonamsharma.com/
Udaipur Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/udaipur-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Jaisalmer Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/jaisalmer-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Ajmer Escorts - http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/ajmer-escorts-call-girls-service.html
jodhpur Escorts - http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/jodhpur-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Pushkar Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/pushkar-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Bikaner Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/bikaner-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Mount Abu Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/mount-abu-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Kota Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/kota-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Vadodara Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/vadodara-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Rajkot Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/rajkot-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Daman Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/daman-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Kutch Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/kutch-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Somnath Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/somnath-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Porbandar Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/porbandar-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Patan Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/patan-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Shimla Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/shimla-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Manali Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/manali-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Dharamshala Escorts- http://www.ahmedabadescortsx.com/dharamshala-escorts-call-girls-service.html
Haridwar Escorts- http://ww
Sunday, April 11th 2021 @ 1:10 PM

Posted by Call Girls in Jaipur:

Meet sonam sharma jaipur escorts a sexy Call Girls in Jaipur who truly wins heart of their customers for best jaipur escorts service call her.
Friday, April 9th 2021 @ 12:00 PM

Posted by organize tool kit:

Learn how to organize tool kits in a simple way?

Casually putting tool kit sometimes becomes a mess and can't find when required. Therefore get the best tips of organize a tool kit.
Wednesday, April 7th 2021 @ 5:33 AM

Posted by Nisha Sharma:

Escort Service in Jaipur. https://www.nishasharma.in/
Sunday, April 4th 2021 @ 8:54 AM

Posted by disha123:

Ramnagar escort service
Saturday, April 3rd 2021 @ 8:24 PM

Posted by Nissan micra 1997 manual pdf:

Great article.
https://techiedudes.com/nissan-micra-1997-manual-pdf.pdf
Nissan micra 1997 manual pdf https://techiedudes.com/nissan-micra-1997-manual-pdf.pdf
Thursday, April 1st 2021 @ 11:26 PM

Posted by Resume format for hardware and networking pdf:

Woah! I'm rdally loving the template/theme of this website.
It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's very
difficult to get that "perfect balance" between usability and visual appeal.
I must say you have done a excellent job wit this. In addition,
the blog loads extremely quick for me on Opera. Supereb Blog!

http://digityao.online/wp-content/plugins/apikey/resume-format-for-hardware-and-networking-pdf.pdf
Resume format for hardware and networking pdf
Trastornos del ritmo cardiaco pdf https://ericnovak.com/hp-p1005-service-manual-pdf.pdf
Thursday, April 1st 2021 @ 4:15 PM

Posted by Olive garden job application form pdf:

My brother suggested I might like this website. He was entirely right.
This poist truky made my day. You can not imagine juzt how much time I hhad spent for this information!Thanks!


https://assuredmedsups.com/olive-garden-job-application-form-pdf.pdf
Olive garden jjob application form pdf
Powershot s5 is manual pdf https://assuredmedsups.com/olive-garden-job-application-form-pdf.pdf
Monday, March 29th 2021 @ 11:13 PM

Posted by Form n 400 application for naturalization pdf:

This is a topic that is close to my heart...
Best wishes! Where aare your contact details though?
https://mackglobal.net/form-n-400-application-for-naturalization-pdf.pdf
Form n 400 application for naturalization pdf
2005 yamaha grizzly 660 service anual pdf https://randialexander.com/concepts-in-probability-and-stochastic-modeling-solution-manual-pdf.pdf
Monday, March 29th 2021 @ 12:19 PM

Posted by Graphic design portfolio pdf samples:

It's actually a nice and helpful piece of info.
I'm happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
Please sgay us up too date like this. Thanks for sharing.

https://myhrsa.co.za/graphic-design-portfolio-pdf-samples.pdf
Graphic design portfolio pdf samples
Fill out pdf forms on iphone https://myhrsa.co.za/graphic-design-portfolio-pdf-samples.pdf
Monday, March 29th 2021 @ 11:05 AM

Posted by best place to buy cialis online:

Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i got here to goo back the favor?.I'm attempting to find issues to imprlve my website!I guesss its ok to uuse a few of your ideas!!

https://harborbaystorage.net
best place to buy cilis online
best place to buy cialis online https://harborbaystorage.net/50mg-generic-cialis
Thursday, March 25th 2021 @ 6:34 AM

Posted by insvipre:

Thanks for this valuable information!

http://insvipre.com/

insvipre
Tuesday, March 23rd 2021 @ 7:18 AM

Posted by vipredownloadalreadypurchased:

Thanks for this valuable information!


https://sites.google.com/site/vipredownloadalreadypurchased/

vipredownloadalreadypurchased
Tuesday, March 23rd 2021 @ 7:18 AM

Posted by newvipre:

Thanks for this valuable information!

https://newvipre.com

install Vipre on the second computer

install Vipre using product key

install Vipre
Thursday, March 18th 2021 @ 6:31 AM

Posted by trendmicro-activate:

Trendmicro activate for your mac and pc.
When you activate trendmicro antivirus, it protects your device from unwanted threats.

Below mentioned are the services provided by trendmicro activation

https://trendmicro-activate.com/
https://trendmicro-activate.com/activate-trend-micro-internet-security/
https://trendmicro-activate.com/install-trend-micro-activation-code/
https://trendmicro-activate.com/trend-micro-internet-security-activation/
https://trendmicro-activate.com/trendmicro-com-activate/

trend micro activation
activate trend micro internet security
install trend micro activation code
trend micro internet security activation
trendmicro.com/activate
Tuesday, March 16th 2021 @ 2:45 AM

Posted by installvipre:

Vipre antivirus secures your computer against unwanted cyber threats available online.


https://installvipre.org
https://installvipre.org/i-need-to-install-vipre
https://installvipre.org/install-vipre-with-key-code
https://installvipre.org/reinstall-vipre-with-product-key
https://installvipre.org/vipre-antivirus-hsn-install-download

install vipre antivirus
i need to install vipre
install vipre with key code
reinstall vipre with product key
vipre antivirus hsn install
download
Tuesday, March 16th 2021 @ 2:45 AM

Posted by Shruti:

You made some decent points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site
Best perfume for women
Best perfumes for women in india
Long lasting perfumes for women
Saturday, March 13th 2021 @ 1:30 AM

Posted by Shruti:

You made some decent points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site
Best perfume for men
Long lasting perfume for men
Best perfumes for men in india
Saturday, March 13th 2021 @ 1:29 AM

Posted by job:

IBPS RRB PO Final Result 2021: Final Provisional List Link Activated
https://todayjoboffer.com/ibps-rrb-po-final-result-2021
Thursday, March 11th 2021 @ 1:39 AM

Posted by 먹튀폴리스:

The investigation made a history of crimes related to child abuse that were caught in September 2014 according to the Child Welfare Act. 먹튀폴리스
Saturday, March 6th 2021 @ 11:45 PM

Posted by 안전놀이터:

According to Article 29-3 of the Child Welfare Act, 안전놀이터 a child abuse-related offender during the employment restriction period is restricted from the operation or employment of child-related institutions during that period.
Saturday, March 6th 2021 @ 11:44 PM

Posted by job:

FCI Recruitment 2021: Category 1 Notification Out | Apply Online Link Activated
https://todayjoboffer.com/fci-recruitment-2021
Monday, March 1st 2021 @ 3:18 AM

Posted by Garage Door Repairs:

Continue your great work! Very helpful these days.

Garage Door Repairs
Tuesday, February 23rd 2021 @ 1:12 PM

Posted by job:

Indian Navy Tradesman Recruitment 2021: 1159 Vacancy | Online Form Link Activated
https://todayjoboffer.com/indian-navy-tradesman-recruitment-2021
Monday, February 22nd 2021 @ 2:52 AM

Post New Comment

No Smilies More Smilies »